The Ghana Football Association (GFA) has officially reported the conduct of US referee Ismail Elfath to FIFA.
Referee Ismail awarded a controversial penalty to Portugal in their match against Ghana on Thursday in the Qatar World Cup.
Cristiano Ronaldo beautifully kicked the ball in the net of the Black Stars. Ghana lost 3-2 at the end of the game.
Ghana head coach Otto Addo said ‘The referee gave a penalty which was not a penalty… But this was really a gift. A special gift from the referee’.
Journalist Joel Nii Bortey revealed in a post Kasatintin.com has sighted that the GFA has dragged referee Ismail Elfath to FIFA over his ‘failure to check VAR [which] cost the Black Stars points in their World Cup opener’.
Check out his post below.
The GFA petitions FIFA about the conduct of US referee Ismail Elfath after his key decisions – including a penalty awarded Portugal and failure to check VAR – cost the Black Stars points in their World Cup opener pic.twitter.com/ovnQwoREr3
— Bortey 🇬🇭 (@joelbortey) November 25, 2022